Produce Work

I have been in a staring contest with my email all day. Waiting for an answer to just about every question that I have asked all week. To keep myself from boring holes with my eyes into my large LCD screen I have a podcast going in the background. I don’t often listen to music while working. I’d rather listen to the thoughts and teachings of other artists. In this technological world we live in there is an abundance of amazing thought and education swirling about, available for the taking.  And the refrain that that I keep hearing is “Artists produce work!”  To be a creative in a creative field you have to create… but if you never show it, never take risks, never push yourself are you really a creative?

When I heard it today, it really struck a chord. I have been so busy this season creating creating creating but for various reasons nothing has seen the light of day. Much of it is coming after the holiday… clients holding on to images as gifts, projects that are in process to be revealed in the new year etc. But I have felt a bit of a schlump with the lack of posting.

So today I picked up my camera pointed it at my Calliope and I produced work.

Are you producing work? Are you pushing forward? Growing in your art or your business? I encourage you to produce something today. It doesn’t have to be the next Rembrandt or iPod. Just take something from start to finish in one day. And show it to the world. You’ll be glad you did.

Feel free to share links of what you produce in the comments! I would love to see what is being produced!

About laolsen

Charleston, South Carolina based Lifestyle photographer, artist, and all around creative maven. She lives on James Island with her two adorable pound puppies, Peanut and Calliope. View all posts by laolsen

Leave a Reply

