R.I.P. Buddy

In the past year I have decided to focus more on the Pet Photography portion of my business.   I love working with pets and their owners, it’s so fun to play for a living!  Now, don’t get me wrong… it’s hard work, but even the boring office parts are a little easier when I am ultimately doing what I love.

But each time I complete a session I feel ‘the tinge’.  I think it’s because I have had dogs, dear, precious dogs to me pass away.  I feel the tinge that I just captured something fleeting, forever.  I know the pain of loss, so each time I click the shutter I feel that I am helping a dog owner hold on to the moment, the personality, the quirk, the memory of love, for always.

I saw a post on Facebook this morning of a friend’s dog, that I had never met or photographed, had passed away. I commented my condolences with a heavy heart.  But that prompted a comment from a past client that I was not expecting.  Buddy, dear Buddy, is no longer with us.  He passed August 11, 2011.  He was a rescue with special needs and Patsy took him in because her house was already outfitted with ramps from a previous dog with disabilities.  It was difficult for him to move around when I met him, but his spirit… was lively and as loving as a puppy.  Anytime I hear of a rescue dog with physical limitations, I think of Buddy.  His physical limitations did nothing to hinder his loving spirit. 

I am not sure why the tears surprised me.  Then I realized that other than our own dog Jasmine, I have not been notified of the passing of any dog that I have photographed.  I knew that it would happen.  And it will again.  I feel it a tiny bit each session that I have, but my fears have never come true… until today.

Hold your furry ones a bit closer today.  I am off to snuggle with Peanut and Calliope in the middle of the day.  Because they are here.

**UPDATE**

After this posted I received a call from a blog in AUSTRALIA (!) that wanted to feature dear Buddy.   Check it out at www.prettyfluffy.com

About laolsen

Charleston, South Carolina based Lifestyle photographer, artist, and all around creative maven. She lives on James Island with her two adorable pound puppies, Peanut and Calliope. View all posts by laolsen

5 responses to “R.I.P. Buddy

  • Linda Byars

    Hi Laura – I’m Patsy’s sister, Linda, I live in Columbia. Patsy forwarded this e-mail to me. How lucky Patsy is to have such a caring friend. This is such a sweet memorial to Buddy. He came to my house several times, and we all loved him. I hope I can meet you one day. I’ve never met a person who loved animals that I didn’t like. Thank you for doing such sweet justice for Buddy. He deserved it.

    In loving memory of Buddy, Linda

    • laolsen

      Oh my goodness, thank you for your kind words. He was such a sweet dog. And what Patsy is doing with aging and disabled dogs is truly special. I do hope to meet you one day too.
      🙂 – Laura

  • Cara

    Hi Laura,
    I was Buddy’s mom until Patsy agreed to take him and do for him what I could not. He was a gift from my mom, who died also on 8-11, but 6 years ago. The decision I made was for Buddy. I loved him dearly and wanted a better life for him. I am forever grateful to Patsy for taking him and and giving him so much love and opened up her heart to him. He was an amazing dog, companion, and family member. I will NEVER forget those eyes…….. Thanks for the pics and the amazing tribute you made for my boy! Peace, Cara

  • Adriana

    This is the most beautiful pet photoshoot I’ve ever seen. I can’t even look at the photos without tearing up. You have such a gift! Thank you for sharing it.

  • Sarah

    Hi, you photographed my dog Oscar at a pet helpers event. Your link popped up in my memories. He sadly passed away a few weeks ago. The picture was perfectly timed. Thank you.

Leave a comment